Eagle Scout

Eagle Scout Knot

Worn by adults who earned the rank of Eagle Scout as a youth member. The Eagle Scout is the highest youth rank in the Boy Scouting program.

For current requirements see, Eagle Scout Requirements

Eagle Rank with Palms:

After earning the Rank of Eagle Scout, a Scout can continue to advance by earning palms. A palm may be earned by meeting a three month tenure requirement, a leadership requirement, and earning five additional merit badges. A bronze palm is awarded for the first five merit badges after Eagle. A gold palm for the next five and silver for an additional five. If a Scout continues to advance, combinations of palms may be earned with bronze and silver representing 20 merit badges beyond Eagle (and 12 months tenure). These palms may be worn by youth members on the Eagle Scout rank patch, or on the ribbon of the Eagle Scout medal. Adults that earned them as youth on the ribbon of their Eagle Scout medal on formal occasions, or on the Eagle Scout knot as illustrated below:

Eagle Knot with Bronze Palm Eagle Knot with Gold Palm Eagle Knot with Silver Palm

Eagle Knot with Bronze & Silver Palm Eagle Knot with Gold & Silver Palm Eagle Knot with Two Silver Palms

Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have distinguished themselves in business, professions, and service to their country. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Service upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts.  Recipients may wear a miniature gold Eagle Scout pin on the square knot.

Eagle Knot with Distinguished Eagle Scout Pin

NESA Life Member

NESA Life members may purchase and wear a special version of the Eagle Scout Square Knot with a silver mylar border, as illustrated below.

NESA Life Member Square Knot

In addition to the Square knot patch shown above, Eagle Scouts, of course, receive the medal and ribbon, shown below, and youth members wear the oval Patch on the uniforms.. Recipients of Eagle Palms wear them on the ribbon or patch, similar to what is shown on the knots, above.

EagleEagle Scout Rank Patch

Credits: Our thanks to Mike Walton for the original scans of the palms and their placement,
to Neil Lupton for the scan of the Distinguished Eagle Scout Pin,
and to James Eager for the scan of the NESA Life Member version of the knot.

Page updated on: February 03, 2019

Scouts Using the Internet Cartoon - Courtesy of Richard Diesslin - Click to See More Cartoons
© 1994-2024 - U.S. Scouting Service Project | Site Map | Disclaimer | Project Team | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

Materials found at U. S. Scouting Service Project, Inc. Websites may be reproduced and used locally by Scouting volunteers for training purposes consistent with the programs of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA), the World Organization of the Scout Movement (WOSM) or other Scouting and Guiding Organizations. No material found here may be used or reproduced for electronic redistribution or for commercial or other non-Scouting purposes without the express permission of the U. S. Scouting Service Project, Inc. (USSSP) or other copyright holders. USSSP is not affiliated with BSA or WOSM and does not speak on behalf of BSA or WOSM. Opinions expressed on these web pages are those of the web authors. You can support this website with in two ways: Visit Our Trading Post at www.ScoutingBooks.com or make a donation by clicking the button below.
(U.S. Scouting Service Project Donation)

(Ruth Lyons Memorial Donations)