Charles L. Sommers Alumni Association
George D. Hedrick Volunteer Service Award

Community Organizations Knot

Created in 1995 and awarded by the Charles L. Sommers Alumni Association, Inc. (SAA)'s Board of Directors, the George D. Hedrick Volunteer Service Award recognizes individuals whose service and dedication to the Northern Tier National High Adventure Program is noteworthy in terms of both its impact and/or duration. The award honors former Region Ten Executive and ardent Canoe Base supporter, George Hedrick.

Recipients are presented with a plaque, as well as having their names inscribed on a permanent plaque, which hangs in the Charles L. Sommers Lodge.

Those recipients who are registered BSA members are entitled to wear the Community Organization Award (COA) square knot on their Scout uniform.

Nominations may be submitted to the SAA Board of Directors using the Hedrick Volunteer Service Award Nomination Form


Page updated on: September 12, 2023

Scouts Using the Internet Cartoon - Courtesy of Richard Diesslin - Click to See More Cartoons
© 1994-2024 - U.S. Scouting Service Project | Site Map | Disclaimer | Project Team | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

Materials found at U. S. Scouting Service Project, Inc. Websites may be reproduced and used locally by Scouting volunteers for training purposes consistent with the programs of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA), the World Organization of the Scout Movement (WOSM) or other Scouting and Guiding Organizations. No material found here may be used or reproduced for electronic redistribution or for commercial or other non-Scouting purposes without the express permission of the U. S. Scouting Service Project, Inc. (USSSP) or other copyright holders. USSSP is not affiliated with BSA or WOSM and does not speak on behalf of BSA or WOSM. Opinions expressed on these web pages are those of the web authors. You can support this website with in two ways: Visit Our Trading Post at or make a donation by clicking the button below.
(U.S. Scouting Service Project Donation)

(Ruth Lyons Memorial Donations)